Stef's adventures in craftiness

Photo of the day: Experiments in Aperture and Exposure

Pretty uneventful day today, but for a quick experiment at lunchtime with aperture and exposure bracketing. Wasn’t sure what I was doing with the camera menu, but I ended up with tens of pictures with different shutter and ISO settings leading to overall different exposure values. I picked this first image, which was actually overexposed but gave the most detail of the piece of dead coral I picked up from a beach in Fiji (I learned from the customs man that’s a bad idea as it encourages harvesting, so I won’t be doing it next time).

Photo of the day:

From Stef's PEN Mini

The following picture I did manually, to see how narrow I could get the depth of field: it’s about as different a picture I could get from the same angle without special effects.

Runner up:

From Stef's PEN Mini

Less detail, but you can see how the blurring makes it look more 3D.
Which do you my 3 readers, prefer?

One response

  1. Flossy

    Fourth reader! I like the second one 🙂

    November 13, 2011 at 22:43

Leave a comment