Stef's adventures in craftiness

Shadow choices

On sunny Saturday at the cafe, I spied a great photographic opportunity. Unfortunately I can’t decide which capture I prefer, or didn’t have time (or the nouse) to get the perfect shot. So I ask you instead to help me out by telling me which one you like best, and why. I hope it doesn’t take away too much from the image to see so many versions.

This one I like because it is simple, but interesting. But I guess it doesn’t have the cool helicopter or seagull you see below.

From July

This one, I’m not sure why I like it. Maybe the two pairs of people? The seagull is cool. I know that’s not a great reason.

From July

This one I like because it focuses simply on the two coolest bits, the helicopter and the shadows.

From July

This one I like best for the framing, and the dynamics of the helicopter and the man at the edge of the frame.

From July

This one I like because having the shadows in the distance it is not as in your face what I want you to look at, and it sets the scene of the bar where I spotted it in the first place (including cool architectural detail).

From July

Please cast your vote.

15 responses

  1. i vote vertical helicopter. amazing, amazing capture 😉

    July 10, 2012 at 23:35

    • Thankyou very much!

      July 11, 2012 at 13:06

  2. Solveig

    The third one, the one with the shadows and helicopter only. 🙂

    July 11, 2012 at 01:10

    • Thanks 🙂

      July 11, 2012 at 13:06

  3. Interesting shadows… my eyes are scanning every corner like a mad man!! Very interesting 🙂

    July 11, 2012 at 06:09

    • Well, I don’t want to send you mad! The sun did make for a lot of shadows that day.

      July 11, 2012 at 13:05

  4. Third one IN COLOUR please. Show us that blue sky.

    July 11, 2012 at 11:45

    • Bright blue is nice, but, you already know it is there, and you don’t need the colour distracting from the focus points of the image which were essentially already black and white. I’ll show you later side by side.

      July 11, 2012 at 13:05

  5. Hmm. Number 2 is like a trick photo because the shadows and the boys are the only things in the picture and they don’t match, so your eyes start scanning for reference points, but there aren’t any. It’s more like a collage than a photo.
    I’m not sure about No. 3 – what is it saying as a work of art? I think No. 4 says the same thing, but more clearly – still with limited elements, and framing, but each element still plays in its own corner of the picture. The negative space makes everything much starker There’s a kind of disconnected loneliness about the picture.

    I love it.

    But maybe ‘shop out the bird poo?

    July 11, 2012 at 11:53

    • Yes, I think you’ve articulated what I don’t like about 2 and 3, and what I like about 4.
      Somehow I’d forgotten the bird poo.
      Thanks

      July 11, 2012 at 13:02

      • I must confess that the photo is so clean that I thought the poo was a food stain on my monitor. And so I spent too long trying to clean it off….

        July 11, 2012 at 16:21

  6. My favorite is the very first one. Your eye is really drawn to figuring out what you are looking at, and it’s so well-balanced. They are all great tho.

    July 22, 2012 at 15:08

    • Thank you!

      July 22, 2012 at 22:42

  7. I think that the first and last photos have the greatest sense of intrigue.

    July 26, 2012 at 21:00

    • Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated. I definitely find those two more ‘interesting’.

      July 26, 2012 at 23:24

Leave a Reply

