Stef's adventures in craftiness

Transit of Venus

Today at work we had the telescope and binoculars set up with solar film for a bit of a Venus viewing party. Thankfully the sun came out for sometime from behind the clouds for us.

With my 9 stop ND filter, minimum possible exposure settings and the help of some clouds to reduce the incoming light, I was excited to be able to capture the transit of Venus with my camera, including sunspots as well as the final moment as it left the edge. Unfortunately though I have but a humble 300mm full frame equivalent lens and 12MP camera, so I had to majorly crop the images to frame the sun.

I think next time (total eclipse!) I’ll need a 10 stop filter or stacked filters, as without the clouds this filter was not enough to see the detail!

Check out Dan’s artsy looking shot holding the phone up to the telescope. I didn’t have much luck with my camera there.

From June
From June
From June
2 responses

  1. The first one is just amazing

    June 7, 2012 at 01:11

    • Thanks šŸ™‚ It was even more amazing to see through the telescope.

      June 7, 2012 at 08:14

Leave a Reply

