Stef's adventures in craftiness

I like the mooon…

This is my first semi-proper attempt at photographing the moon, which was looking rather photogenic tonight. It’s nice to get back into the slowed down focussing on one scene after the recent rush-rush of sightseeing photos.

I had to go manual mode and manual focus to get it right, twiddling with the settings until I could see some of the detail. I would love to get closer, but have already maxed out my kit telephoto and acceptable cropping limit to get this far. Perhaps I’ll have to sproing for the 300mm (600mm equivalent). Not sure how to get rid of the halo, apart from retouching…

Maybe when Dan buys his telescope I can hook it up, head out to the country and shoot some stars..

From Stef's PEN Mini

The title of this post is a reference to a novelty song (warning: annoying noises) that we were somehow obsessed in our pre-YouTube uni days. I think we must have been drunk/very tired because even with my still silly sense of humour, it does not hold up well.

5 responses

  1. Great image… I don’t see anything wrong with it 🙂

    March 29, 2012 at 04:39

  2. melanie

    Charlie has a glow in the dark moon, and every time he plays with it (after a story and when the lights are off) he tells me that ‘Dan and Stef go there’. He says it every single night and insists it is true.

    March 29, 2012 at 08:54

    • Stef

      😀 How cool!
      Well we have been flying a lot… looking forward to doing so your way soon! (via the moon of course)

      March 29, 2012 at 10:06

  3. Hmm looking into it you need a bit of kit to do astrophotograpy through a scope, a couple of adapters, not to mention a separate finder scope so you can see where you are pointing the thing (as the camera is hogging the eyepiece).

    March 29, 2012 at 08:57

  4. Damn, Charlie is on to us! No one is supposed to know!

    March 29, 2012 at 08:58

Leave a Reply

