Stef's adventures in craftiness

Got them pickles

I spotted some produce at the veggie shop suggestively labelled “pickling cucumbers”. I decided to take them up on that suggestion.
We used a recipe from Stephanie Alexander (the Cook’s Companion), which involved salting them, and soaking them in vinegar and spices. We have several jars now sitting in the fridge. We have to wait 6 weeks until they’re ready, but that means we’ll have pickles waiting for us when we get home from our holiday.

Itadakimasu!

From Look! I made it myself!

I think we need to top up the vinegar though, perhaps they’re a little thirsty.
I’ve never made gherkins before: I hope they’re even better than the supermarket ones, which tend to be either too sweet, too bland, or too vinegary.

Leave a Reply

