Stef's adventures in craftiness

Home, Part 2

A couple of photo fragments from Hobart-town.

This would have to be one of the best looking post-offices in the country. Apparently (according to Dad, so you never know…) it was built using some sandstone from our farm’s quarry (last post) and the design was based on a competition won by my great great uncle. So I’m a little proud of it.

From Stef's PEN Mini
From Stef's PEN Mini

Overlooking Hobart, is always Mt Wellington. Not especially high, but invariably topped with snow or bottomed with cloud, even in summer.

From Stef's PEN Mini
2 responses

  1. The photo of your ancestry post office reminds me so much of our ‘Liverbuildings’ in Liverpool, England… I originally clicked on it as I thought it was in Liverpool šŸ™‚
    Yes it’s has been built very beautifully and you should be proud of your uncle šŸ™‚

    January 9, 2012 at 23:42

    • Stef

      Thankyou! Yes, I think they were probably built around the same time to the English asthetic of the day. I did a Google, and it was indeed my uncle and his architecture firm who won the tender. Seems he did a few other buildings, I’ll have to go back and find them!

      January 31, 2012 at 11:36

Leave a Reply

