Stef's adventures in craftiness

Too slow!

We have quite a lot of butterflies on site, but it sure is hard to ‘pin’ them down. The most I can get is some pretty boring ones of them sitting on a pipe or something, from far away.

I was so close here, though I did have the unexpected bonus of catching some insects at the same time. If I wasn’t zoomed in to 150mm, I would have caught it in the frame.

From Stef's PEN Mini

This sums up many of my experiences lately: sometimes I’m too damned slow to catch a great photo opportunity. By the time I’ve got the camera on and ready and found the object in my viewfinder, it’s gone. I need to practice tracking objects and save the settings in my camera before turning it off so I’m ready to go. Or just keep it on and hanging round my neck.

One response

  1. Good photographers are too slow. Great photographers are too slow, but then they open photoshop and copy paste a butterfly right where they want it.

    November 30, 2011 at 11:23

Leave a Reply

