Stef's adventures in craftiness

Wednesday: camera experiments, i.e. going beyond auto

So last week I finally went to a camera course that I got a ticket to when I bought my camera. I learnt about composition, aperture, shutter speed, ISO, focal length, depth of field, exposure – basically how to use it! I’ve had some time since to digest a little and I think I’m starting to get how they all interact to make the shot.

The first shot was an experiment in shutter speed and in tracking, using shutter mode on the camera. Basically you slow down the time the shutter is open (in this case to 1/10 of a second) so that there is time to incorporate some healthy blur into the image, which conveys some movement of your focus target (my hand) relative to its background. Useful for sports photography. If I had a faster shutter speed I would just get a point frozen in time, and you wouldn’t realise I was moving my hand round like a crazy person with a camera on my shoulder. It’s tricky to get this so that the hand isn’t blurred as well: you have to move at the same speed as what you’re tracking, and you don’t want the shakes.

From Stef's PEN Mini

The second shot, was when I was trying to play with aperture and shutter speed to get a night time highway streaky shot, but failed due to lack of knowledge condensation and tripod. However in this random case I ended up with a somewhat pretty abstract shot I think.

From Stef's PEN Mini

I keep reading and practising, so should only get better from here!

Leave a Reply

