Stef's adventures in craftiness

New pesto pasta

I’m always riffing on the pesto, so was quite happy to come across a new idea. Apparently, in Sicily, almonds, orange, and mint are a regular combination.

I used:

  • 1/2 cup almonds (might try hazelnuts next time)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 teaspoons finely grated orange zest (bonus orange for eatin’)
  • 1/2 bunch flat-leaf parsley (cos I had some left in the fridge, maybe I’ll leave it out next time)
  • 1 smallish bunch mint
  • almost 1/2 cup olive oil (cos it’s the good stuff, and helps with the blending, but could get away with less)

Basically, just like with pesto, I food processed/blended/woozhed the nuts, and then again with the garlic, salt and zest added. And again, adding the parsley and olive oil, and again with the mint. I find I have to chop these all a bit first or my stick blender doesn’t work too well.

I cooked up a packet (500g/4 people’s worth) orrechiette pasta, cos it’s pretty, drained not completely so I could use some pasta water to help mix the pesto through.

Et voila.

Was quite happy with the flavour and texture, not too minty or orangey or nutty.

Was hoping Dan wouldn’t notice the presence of his new distaste, the parsley, but alas. Seriously, the number of herbs I can use is diminishing rapidly.

 

Leave a Reply

