Stef's adventures in craftiness

Quince Paste

Last time she was here, Mum brought over some quinces from her tree in Tassie. In case you don’t know what they look like untouched:

Image: Suat Eman / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

You don’t usually eat them raw, so I needed to cook ’em, and before they went bad in my fridge. Mum made a yummy crumble, but this time I thought I’d go with the longer-lasting option of quince paste, the kind you often find on cheese-boards. Mmm… cheese…

I got the recipe from Sally Wise’s (also from Tassie) book on all things preserved that I bought last Christmas:

Year in a Bottle

Basically, quince paste is a very thick jam. I got my 8 or so quinces, and some lemon juice (for zing and for enough acid for it to set). Stewed them, until they burnt because I was distracted by the internets. Rescue it and pushed it through a sieve for about an hour to get a fine grainy texture. Then went to bed.

The next night I put the quince puree and the same volume of sugar (to sweeten, preserve and set) into a pot and cooked away until thick and darkened a bit. Though it didn’t get as dark as store bought, it tasted even better!

Made most of a jar:

The jar

Obligatory Dan pose

Spread it on a biccie:

Nom

Glistening in the light

And topped with some cheese:

Nom

Apologies for poor food photography

Nom nom.

Plenty more left. Wine and cheese night anyone?

One response

  1. Oh Em Gee.
    Soh. Hun. Gree.

    June 10, 2010 at 16:54

Leave a Reply

